ATLANTA -- Here's what each of these two "texting while driving" laws does:
The teen bill covers all drivers ages 17 and younger. It is against the law for them to use wireless communications devices while driving. A "wireless communications device" is a cell phone, text message device, personal digital assistant, stand alone computer or similar wireless device.
The adult bill covers all drivers -- from learners permit and older -- and forbids writing, reading or sending text messages, email, or surfing the internet while driving.
There are exceptions.
These laws do not cover the use of wireless devices while lawfully parked and if there are highway or onboard emergencies or if the driver is using a navigation system.
The penalties for violations of either law is one point on the driver's license, up to a $100 dollar fine for breaking the adult version and $150 fine for breaking the teen law -- both of which will be doubled if the illegal texting causes an accident.
The drivers 11Alive spoke with Friday all supported the new laws, but with varying degrees of enthusiasm.
"I think it's a really good idea," said Kirsten Huff. "For me, I text a lot, so it's going to be hard for me to adapt."
"There are so many accidents that are related to people not paying attention to where they're driving," Tommy Danforth pointed out. "So even though I may say I don't like the idea of doing it, I think it's good overall because it'll prevent some people from getting injured or killed."
"I don't know how it would be enforced," said Kevin Sigler. "But I think it's a good thing."
Now Georgia joins about half the states in the country, which now have texting while driving laws.
Again, Georgia's law goes into effect July 1.